romantics

  • Page Count: 336
  • Release Date: November 1, 2016
  • My Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

The Romantics Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ painful separation. Love intervenes with the intention of setting things right—but she doesn’t anticipate the intrusion of her dreaded nemesis: the Rebound. Love’s plans for Gael are sidetracked by Cara, Gael’s hot-sauce-wielding “dream girl.” The more Love meddles, the further Gael drifts from the one girl who can help him mend his heart. Soon Love starts breaking all her own rules—and in order to set Gael’s fate back on course, she has to make some tough decisions about what it means to truly care.


My Thoughts:

4stars

This was a super cute YA contemporary narrated by Love, which was a fun twist!

Love’s commentary was quirky, fast-paces, surprisingly insightful, and thankfully relevant to modern readers (with all of the references to Game of Thrones, Wes Anderson analysis, and texts that didn’t sound like they were written by someone who grew up in the 1980s). So even though the plot is fairly predictable, it’s still a lighthearted and totally entertaining read!

The basic story is that Gael tells a girl he loves her and then finds out the next day that she’s been cheating on him with his best friend. Love keeps trying to get Gael to notice Sammy, his little sister’s babysitter. But Gael goes for the next girl he has a dramatic meet cute with aaaand learns a lot along the way.

Sometimes the plots of a lot of YA contemporaries really blend together for me, so it was refreshing to see little changes like a guy main character who goes for an older girl. The characters were totally relatable and adorable!

I had a digital ARC and I’m not letting the extremely messed up formatting affect my rating in any way, BUT it was hilarious and I need to share how the author’s name was thrown in absolutely everywhere. Check out a few of the sentences that that created:


Mason, who Gael had often feared would grow up to be a total womanizer, sacrificing any chance of real happiness in the name of perky boobs, had LEAH KONEN

because I could peek into the future, and this is what I saw: LEAH KONEN

watched Gael (unsurprisingly) dive headfirst into a relationship with Anika in a desperate attempt to feel LEAH KONEN

Gael grabbed his sandwich and backpack and followed them inside to their usual LEAH KONEN

Cara gazed at him a touch too long, but then a guy LEAH KONEN

As Sammy cut apart the last bit of her waffle, she got LEAH KONEN

She hit me out of nowhere LEAH KONEN

“So what are you doing?” LEAH KONEN

You might as well LEAH KONEN

He had no other option but to remove himself from the LEAH KONEN

the small crack in the sliding glass door from where a pigeon had LEAH KONEN


Who knows, maybe that was just super good marketing to ensure I neverforget the author’s name. But anyways, this was a really cute YA contemporary and I totally recommend it!

Thank you to the publisher for sending me a review copy!

Advertisements

5 comments on “The Romantics by Leah Konen”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *