by-your-side

  • Page Count: 352
  • Release Date: January 31, 2017
  • My Rating: 3 stars

Book Description:

By Your Side In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?


My Thoughts:

3stars

Ehh I feel like 3 stars is pretty generous. I LOVE Kasie West’s other books, but this one was pretty… empty? Like the characters were all shallow and the plot was pretty basic.

Autumn and Dax are locked in a library over a long weekend (but could have been literally anywhere because they didn’t care about the books. They watched tv and ate candy bars). The first 40% of the book is them establishing that Autumn is rich & has lots of friends, while Dax is a cliche loner bad boy with a rep he doesn’t deserve because he’s in foster care and went to juvie for good reasons etc. Autumn has an anxiety disorder, but it seems like it’s mostly thrown in as a prop… and it’s pretty much her entire personality.

Autumn’s friends are the WORST. But that’s never really addressed, so that’s just how they all are. None of them get much of a character. They’re just the people who forgot about her in the library and left for a bonfire, where the guy Autumn has a crush on got in a car accident. So the remaining portion of the story is how Autumn is torn between the guy she likes who’s in a coma and the unsociable Dax (because they apparently bonded with in the library). She tells Dax that they can’t kiss and he just has to be a happy distraction for her anxiety. Idk where the plot even is but there’s very little emotion ANYWHERE.

The story is super short and everything seems to be more of a plot device than anything that actually matters. It still has the light, fluffy tone of Kasie West’s other books and I liked the potential I saw in it for a bit, but by 70% I was done trying to care much.

In the end this feels more like a character study than a full story. But even that doesn’t exactly work because the characters were all flat. So the main thing this book has going for it is the solid writing and lighthearted tone. I’d still recommend checking it out if you like this author!!

Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC.

Advertisements

4 comments on “Review: By Your Side by Kasie West”

  1. Thanks for your review! I’m excited about this one because it sounds super cute, and I think Kasie’s books are SO going to be ideal reads for me. (I’m 100% a cute romance novel junkie.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *