• Page Count: 400
  • Release Date: May 30, 2017
  • My Rating: 1.5 stars

Book Description:

Romancing the ThroneScandal, secrets, and heartbreak abound in this juicy, modern girl-meets-prince story—perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jennifer E. Smith.

For the first time ever, the Weston sisters are at the same boarding school. After an administration scandal at Libby’s all-girls school threatens her chances at a top university, she decides to join Charlotte at posh and picturesque Sussex Park. Social-climbing Charlotte considers it her sisterly duty to bring Libby into her circle: Britain’s young elites, glamorous teens who vacation in Hong Kong and the South of France and are just as comfortable at a polo match as they are at a party.

It’s a social circle that just so happens to include handsome seventeen-year-old Prince Edward, heir to Britain’s throne.

If there are any rules of sisterhood, “Don’t fall for the same guy” should be one of them. But sometimes chemistry—even love—grows where you least expect it. In the end, there may be a price to pay for romancing the throne…and more than one path to happily ever after.


My Thoughts:

I wanted to read this the second I saw it was inspired by Kate & Pippa and involved a British boarding school. But oh my goodness… this was definitely one of the most cringeworthy reads I’ve ever found.

The main character Charlotte is from new money and is preoccupied with her image & status. Prince Edward (William) and her friends at school are from old money. She hangs out with them but doesn’t truly feel like she belongs… you know the drill at this point.

It felt like Gossip Girl at times, but the characters and their dialogue were all so unrealistic that nothing was believable. The writing is either aimed at a very young YA crowd or thinks the reader is an idiot who needs everything spelled out for them. Charlotte’s every single thought, action, and entire narration just made me go

And lines like “No man candy? Cringe!” or “get into the Oxbridge universities” did not help. I know I haven’t said much about the actual plot, but that really wasn’t any better. It was more like a distorted version of movie cliches. I felt like the author didn’t have a lot of real-life knowledge of upperclass British society OR human teenagers.

I loved the general idea of what this story could have been and was REALLY looking forward to a fluffy, happy read. There’s not much I could find to dislike about British boarding schools and a Cinderella type story. But this was just… frustrating all around.

Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC.

1 comment on “Review: Romancing the Throne by Nadine Jolie Courtney”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *