Ok, I know this is probably the hundredth list of recommendations you’ve seen “for fans of Harry Potter,” but bear with me here. Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor is such a fabulously magical story (in every sense of the word) that falls under that list and I need to highlight how accurate that suggestion is for the blog tour!

I’m often skeptical of Harry Potter recommendation lists because they’re so overdone and usually just feature books that have magic (and not much else in common). Maybe they’ll add a young boy saving the world or some funny creatures, but most of those elements don’t really get at the heart of what Harry Potter’s about for me. (And we all love the wizarding world for different reasons, so if the basic magic element is what you want then that’s awesome and you’ll have a ton of options).

To me, Harry Potter is about finding a group of friends who become your family. It’s about a sense of home/belonging, possibility, and a whole assortment of different characters with strong personalities. The characters are what make the story. My favorite scenes in the books are honestly the ones where everyone’s just sitting around in the common room or eating in the Great Hall. Obviously I ADORE THE MAGIC. But there’s more.

So when I say a book kind of feels like Harry Potter, I mean you can really get invested in the friendships of a core group of characters who happen to be in a super detailed, creative world. A lot of these books I’m recommending might not seem anything like Harry Potter at first glance (meaning they don’t scream “magical kids fight evil!”), but they’re ones I think a lot of Harry Potter fans would enjoy:

  1. Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor
  2. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
  3. The Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima
  4. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
  5. The Dark Artifices by Cassandra Clare
  6. Most books by Sarah J Maas
  7. The Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage
  8. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  9. The Elemental Trilogy by Sherry Thomas
  10. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

You’ve probably read at least one on here, so if you liked that then who knows… maybe you’ll love Akata Witch and some others!


Akata Witch Description

World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor weaves together a story of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world–for fans of Ursula Le Guin and Diana Wynne Jones.
Twelve-year-old Sunny lives in Nigeria, but she was born American. Her features are African, but she’s albino. She’s a terrific athlete, but can’t go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits. And then she discovers something amazing-she is a “free agent,” with latent magical power. Soon she’s part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But will it be enough to help them when they are asked to catch a career criminal who knows magic too?

About the Author

Nnedi Okorafor was born in the United States to two Igbo (Nigerian) immigrant parents. She holds a PhD in English and is a professor of creative writing at Chicago State University. She has been the winner of many awards for her short stories and young adult books, and won a World Fantasy Award for Who Fears Death. Nnedi’s books are inspired by her Nigerian heritage and her many trips to Africa. She lives in Chicago with her daughter Anyaugo and family. She can be contacted via her website, http://www.nnedi.com.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enter for a chance to win one (1) of five (5) sets that include the paperback of AKATA WITCH and a galley of AKATA WARRIOR (ARV: $10.99 each).
 
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on July 17th, 2017 and 12:00 AM on August 7, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about August 5, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

Check out the rest of the tour:

Week One:
July 17 – An AfroBoricua Reads – Review
July 18 – YA and Wine – Review & Wine Pairing
July 19 – A Page With A View – Top 10 Books for HP Fans
July 20 NovelKnight
July 21YA Wednesdays – Fashion Inspired by Akata Witch
Week Two:
July 25Bibliophile Gathering – Review
July 26Dazzled by Books
July 27What Sarah Read – Review & Mood Board
July 28Alexa Loves Books – Review
Week Three:
August 2Once Upon a Twilight – Spotlight
August 3Books 4 Your Kids
August 4Hollywood News SourceAkata Witch Excerpt
Advertisements

4 comments on “Akata Witch Blog Tour: My Top 10 Recommendations for Harry Potter Fans (+ a giveaway)”

  1. Great post! I haven’t finished reading Akata Witch yet, but I definitely agree with you about the friendships between the characters.

  2. Sounds interesting! I haven’t read Akata Witch yet, but i loved Harry Potter. Fo sho gonna give it a try soon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *