Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi is a really creative Nigerian-inspired fantasy that was released on Halloween. I loved the concept of the book so much that I asked the author to share a bit about any visuals that might have inspired him. Check it out below and make sure to enter the giveaway at the bottom to win your own copy of the book!

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable fantasy adventure that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor. In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts—lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.

Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves—and his own life

Tochi Onyebuchi is a Nigerian American writer and a practicing attorney based in New York City. He holds a MFA in screenwriting from Tisch, a Masters degree in global economic law from L’institut d’études politiques, and a JD from Columbia Law School. His writing has appeared in Asimov’s and Ideomancer, among other places. Beasts Made of Night is his debut series. You can follow him @tochitruestory.


Some Inspiration Behind the Book

This book had so many amazing visuals and such a creative concept that I asked Tochi to share more about any images he was inspired by:

My best friend, currently in med school, is covered in tattoos. She has half-sleeves on both arms, a display of a heartbeat line on her chest along with amoebic designs, and cubist renderings of her dogs’ faces on her thigh. She’s one of the most tatted people I know, and each one of those images holds a story for her. I remember, one afternoon, when we were at her apartment about to watch TV, she took her socks off to put her feet on her couch and revealed feet covered in tattoos of birds flying around each other. When she put her feet together, the image became that of a migration pattern. It was one of the most beautiful things I’d ever seen, so, in many ways, this book is homage to her.

Enter for a chance to be one (1) of three (3) winners to receive a hardcover copy of Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi. (ARV: $17.99 each).
 
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on October 23, 2017 and 12:00 AM on November 13, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about November 15, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Week One:
October 23 – Pop! Goes the Reader – Creative Content | Artistic Wallpaper
October 24 – Alexa Loves Books – Bookish Style File
October 25 – Boricuan Bookworms – Review & Bookish Aesthetics
October 26 – Afire Pages – Review
October 27 – YA Wednesdays – Book Aesthetic

Week Two:
October 30 – One Way or an Author – Review & Art
October 31 – YA Bibliophile – Author Guest Post | Top 5 Favorite Fantastical Worlds
November 1 – Chasing Faerytales – Author Guest Post | Inspiration behind Beasts Made of Night
November 2 – Icey BooksBeasts Made of Night Quote Candy
November 3 – Across the Words – Author Q&A

Week Three:
November 6 – A Page With a View – Author Guest Post | Images that Inspired Beasts Made of Night
November 7 – The Royal Polar Bear Reads – Review
November 8 – Xpresso Reads – Review
November 9 – YA and Wine – Review
November 10 – Brittany’s Book Rambles – Author Q&A

Advertisements

3 comments on “Blog Tour: Beasts Made of Night (+ GIVEAWAY)”

  1. I don’t think I’ll ever get a tattoo myself, but I enjoy hearing the personal stories for each image that people choose. The birds on your friend’s feet sound very cool and artistic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *